• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Goku17c

static const , const static

This topic is 4389 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi everyone. I am new to these forums. I have been programming for about 2 years allready though. Nice to meet you all. Anyways, I was wonderign if anyone here could answer this for me... what is the differance between declaring objects (or methods w/e) like so... static const ... or const static ... Both in global and local scope would be cool if they are differant. And yes I allready know about declaring static const members in a class to make derived objects only create 1 copy of it. But I know there is a real differance, I am unsure though. I was thinking it has something to do with the scope or linkage perhaps, but again I am not sure. Thanks!

Advertisement
Nothing. These are all the same:
    static const int ...
static int const ...
const static int ...
const int static ...
int const static ...
int static const ...

I don't think that is allways true, I was told by a programmer in a commercial game developement company thier was a differance.

He told me to figure it out =/. It could be something to do with classes, and member functions, or just member objects.

I don't see a diferance either. idk...

Here is what I was givin.

const static int testCheck = 0;

and how that differs from

static const int testCheck = 0;

Guest Anonymous Poster
Quote:
Original post by Goku17c
I don't think that is allways true, I was told by a programmer in a commercial game developement company thier was a differance.

He told me to figure it out =/. It could be something to do with classes, and member functions, or just member objects.

I don't see a diferance either. idk...

Here is what I was givin.

const static int testCheck = 0;

and how that differs from

static const int testCheck = 0;