• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Lollyn00b

Problems with pointers

This topic is 4457 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I'm new to this forum, and I'm just starting in C++. I've had some experience (sort of) programming in Game Maker, so I've got a good grasp on basic things like variables, arrays, loops and stuff like that. Recently, however, I've been having some problems with pointers (hence the topic title); I've been trying to use them to create a dynamically sized array, and it seems to be working pretty well, except my program freezes at seemingly random times. I'm pretty sure it's a memory leak, but I'm not too good at finding those things. Here's the source code for my program; any help would be appreciated. If it helps, I'm using Dev-C++ 4.9.9.2.
#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{    
    long int input;
    long int i;

while(true)
    {
        cin >> input;
        long int *pointer = new long int[input];

for(i=0;i<=input;i+=1)
        {
            pointer=i;
        }

cout << pointer[input] << "\n";

cin.get();
        delete [] pointer;
        cout << "Memory cleared.\n";

cin.get();
        system("cls");
    }
    cin.get();
}
P.S.: If anyone knows how I could put my code in a box on this forum, to separate it from the rest of my post, I'd greatly appreciate it if you could tell me. EDIT: Don't bash me for the lack of indentation, the forum decided to get rid of mine when I posted :P EDIT2: After some testing, I've found out that it wasn't really random freezing, it was only freezing after I typed numbers while pressing enter really fast, or if I typed numbers over 100,000,000. Might not be a leak after all, just me being stupid and overestimating my console app. :O
Edit by Fruny: re-fixed the formatting. [Edited by - Fruny on August 10, 2006 12:51:47 AM]

Advertisement