• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Boruki

Gradiant vs Speed

This topic is 4303 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm looking to make the gradiant of my terrain slow/stop characters. I realise this means taking the normal of the plane below the character, but I'm quite bad with math and was wondering if anyone had an example or simple explaination on what I'd do with that normal to use it to slow my characters. I know this is quite a nub question and put in very nub terms.. but thats me :) Any help/suggestions is greatly appreciated, thanks.

Advertisement
Do you mean, rather, that climbing should slow your character?

Difference of gravitational potential translates to a difference of speed between t=1 and t=2:

(v1)2 + 2g (z1-z2) = (v2)2

Well, I did say I'm not good with math. The equation there isn't laid out in anyway similar to what I ever learned at school.

What I was looking for can be summed up as:
The greater the gradient of the terrain/face, the slower the speed a character can move on it. I'm also realising at the moment that it requires the gradient of the face being approached also, otherwise it would have problems going down steep gradients..

Unless I'm going about my goal in the wrong manner, then please someone tell me :).

Again, you don't need gradient: the only important thing is the altitude difference between the starting point (z1) and the arrival point (z2). The higher the arrival point is above the starting point, the lower will be the speed when that point is reached, so moving up makes you move slower.