Sign in to follow this  
juanpaco

Timing in a tetris clone

juanpaco    150
Hi everyone. I'm pretty new to game writing. My experience includes ascii-based fighting games in GW-BASIC and one 3d Tron light cycle ripoff I did for graphics class in college. It was basically a hack job. I want to learn how to make games better than that, so I took the advice of an article here, and I'm starting with a Tetris clone. I'm doing this in C#, and just to make things more complicated, I might use Managed DirectX. My question is how to manage how often to update the screen. Tetris of course has blocks falling at a given rate, etc. How does one time the falling of the blocks? In the GW-BASIC days I would just stick a for loop in to slow the computer down, but that's probably the worst method in existence. I've thought about this, and the best I can come up with is to keep track of the last time the screen was updated, and during the render loop check to see if the difference between that time and now is larger than a given delta (determined by current level or whatever). If it is, then make the block fall, check for whether it should settle, if lines are completed, etc. If not, well, don't. Does that sound about right? Has anyone else here made a Tetris clone? Is that last question like asking if anyone at a restaurant review site has eaten out before? Thanks in advance for any input.

Zahlman    1682
Ai ai ai.

Don't "make the block fall" during the render process. You will have major design headaches if you try to update the game state in your rendering code. Update and render are separate tasks.