Sign in to follow this  
Kenny77

Learning C++

How long did it take you guys to learn enough C++ to make a simple 2D game? And then how long until you made a 3D game? I just wanted to know so I can set realistic goals for myself.

about 3months to learn enough C++ to start making a 3D game. BUT i already had 5 years of experience in Java (which is syntactically very similar). If it's your first programming language it'll take you a while.

The bigger consideration is how much math and physics do you know? I had 3 years of physics and many years of math(through multi-variable calculus & linear algebra) under my belt before i started game programming. Games, especially 3D games are as much about math and physics as they are about knowing software engineering.

-me

I started C++ in 2001, worked with it for two years. Then quit for a while, started back in 2004 and have been using it ever since. I recently started learning Win32 and DirectX so I could program games with graphics. My first game was a simple starfighter game using Win32 and C++. I finished that 12/30/2005. Since then though I have created a lot of 2D games, but never a complete 3D game on my own. I can render 3D objects to the screen using DirectX. I spend more time learning physics, artificial intelligence, and C++ than I do graphics programming though. I can implement pathfinding, statemachines, and collision detection fairly easily. I would say that you could probably create your first game within 6 months of learning C++ by using a library like SDL. The trick is to set time limits for yourself so you actually finish the project. Then try and engineer it in a way that it is easy to maintain. My biggest problem starting out was organizing my files.

If you want to see some of the games I made you can check out the download section of my website
www.adamwlarson.com

Quote:
Original post by Palidine