Sign in to follow this  
Lollyn00b

C/C++ programming for a TI-84+?

Hello, I just got a TI-84+ SE, and I was wondering if there was a way to make apps for it without having to learn (z80 I think) ASM. I'd use TI-Basic, if it weren't so darn slow and limited for games. If anyone knows if there's a way to convert C/C++ code to z80 ASM, or anything of that sort, please tell me. Also, please tell me if this whole idea is rediculous, and that I should better start finding ASM tutorials. I've got some experience in C++, but I could learn C if I needed to; I'm currently using Dev-C++. Thanks ahead of time :P

There is no way to convert the code... but there is a program called SquirrelBox if I remember right which has c like syntax but produces ti84 machine code. This would be a pretty good choice if you really wanted to develop for it.
I know there is one more like this but i can't remember the name. Go to TIcalc.org and search their archive in the windows section for it. If you get stuck email me at stiffler_shade@yahoo.com and i'll try to help.
P.S. when i started programming this was a big hobby of mine :).

The only calculators that enable you to link to you PC and download C/C++ compiled programs (to the native language) is for the TI-89, TI-92, and anything higher than that. Some people have created "translators" from what I hear, taking C and turning it into Z80, but I have yet to see one.

That's my 2 cents, sorry bud. Better start looking for tutorials.

I am not sure about the TI 84+. I do know you can use gcc to write C based applications for the TI 89 Titanium. TI should have information regarding this... looks like the TI 83 uses the Z80. Try zilog

TI-83 SDK

Thanks for telling me about SquirrelBox, Stiffler; the syntax is a lot like C++, so it's easy to understand for me. I've yet to actually compile the ASM code it outputs, but if it works that'll be awesome.