Sign in to follow this  
ryancharpen

2d space game

ryancharpen    122
I started programming the AI for a 2d spaceship game i've been working on for a while. Now ships in my game can only turn 22.5 degrees at a time. If I want the ship to say go to the top left corner of the map, I figure out what the angle between the ship and corner is, then turn as close as I can to that angle and start moving. Eventually the ship will get to a point where the angle between it and the corner is a multiple of 22.5, meaning that the ship can start accelerating directly to its objective. Ok so here's where I hit a snag. If I have the ship accelerate towards the objective when it detects that the angle is right, it will overshoot it because it takes time to change it's velocity direction when its already moving. So basically I need to know when I should start accelerating my ship so that its on the correct course by the time the angle is right. I hope I explained all this clearly :).

chosendl    122
If you are applying thrust in the new direction, the angle you are travelling in is constantly changing, until it is the same as the angle you are facing. This means even though you can only face a direction that is a multiple of 22.5 degrees, you can travel at any angle inbetween. With this in mind, why limit your direction to a multiple of 22.5 degrees? why not just have the ai travel at the exact angle required to reach the destination?

Not very clear
Is you problem with 'how to align ship onto psuedo-grid so that compass direction movement can work'?
or is your problem with 'overshooting and acceleration/decceleration times in general'?

uhh...
desired velocity - current velocity = delta velocity
accelerate over time to produce the needed delta velocity

to deccelerate so that you stop moving at the desired location without overshooting...
you can either do some calculus and try to calculate the right moment to retro-burn