Sign in to follow this  
Abhinash

change the variables of one function from the other using pointers in c++

Abhinash    102
As I always do.. let me tell you guys that till now I am just a beginner of c++ programming and its been just about a week since I started programming in c++. I am a self learner so I kinda GOOGLE for ideas a lot. The better idea to using Global variable in a program is definitely pointers. Pointer is just an adress. You need to keep that in mind if you want to learn how to change the value of a variable using pointers. Ok guys bare with me as I make this analogy. Trust me THIS IS BOUND to clear the concept of pointers. Imagine there are three box A, B, C. the names (A,B and C) are written on the bottom face of the box (I mean to say that you cant just see the name of the box without taking it out and seeing the bottom when it is places somewhere!!). Now put the box A on the table , B under the table and C on the chair, with a red ball in box A. Now call someone who doesnt know which box is which and what each (or any) has. Now give him a cheat with the message "Whats in the box on the table?". He will go to the box on the table(which hapens to be A) and says it loud "a red ball". You should have got the idea yet. You didnt ask the person to go and search in the Box 'A' but since the location "on the table" had Box 'A' he checked THAT particular box. Here the cheat was the "Pointer". It didn't actually have the red ball but let you se what was in the box. No again in the same situation give a secong persont a cheat that reads"take out whatever is in the Box on the table and put a blu ball there" and a third person a cheat that reads" check whats in the box on the table" then the third person's reply will certainly be "a blue ball"... You get it?? Man you just changed the "value" of variable "Box A" without even mentioning its name!!!! Now THATS why I wrote this stupid STORY. You can use the same idea to change the varibles from different func