Sign in to follow this  
Sarxous

Cannot get average of three variables.

I'm a complete newbie to this and this would probably pass as the first program I'm writing without the assistance of a book. What I'm trying to do is get the mean of the variables "gameSCORE1", "gameSCORE2", and "gameSCORE3". The problem is right after I input the numbers for the gamescore variables the program automatically terminates. How can I get the program to work. Your help would be appreciated.
Quote:
//Game Score Program #include <iostream> #include <string> using namespace std; int main() { int gameSCORE1; int gameSCORE2; int gameSCORE3; cout << "Please enter a number between 1 and 50... " << endl; cin >> gameSCORE1; cout << "Please enter a number betwen 51 and 100... " << endl; cin >> gameSCORE2; cout << "Please enter a number between 101 and 150..." << endl; cin >> gameSCORE3; int average = gameSCORE1 + gameSCORE2 + gameSCORE3 / 3; cout << "The average of these numbers is: " << average << endl; cin.ignore(cin.rdbuf()->in_avail() + 1); return 0; }

I think std::cin.get() would work to wait for a keypress.

Also the real error is your average calculation. C/C++ follows the math order of operators. Therefore gameSCORE1 + gameSCORE2 + gameSCORE3 / 3 will not be the average.

You add up gameSCORE1, gameSCORE2 and a third of gameSCORE3. Use brackets like this:

int iAverage = ( gameSCORE1 + gameSCORE2 + gameSCORE3 ) / 3;

Even using the...
Quote:
int iAverage = ( gameSCORE1 + gameSCORE2 + gameSCORE3 ) / 3;

The program still terminates. I'm starting to think it has something to do with the..
Quote:
cin.ignore(cin.rdbuf()->in_avail() + 1);

code which I just copied from Beginning Cplusplus Game programming. Endurion, you said something about "cin.get()" how do I use it?

Try this:

//Game Score Program

#include <iostream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;

int main()
{
int gameSCORE1 = 0;
int gameSCORE2 = 0;
int gameSCORE3 = 0;