Sign in to follow this  
Mystixs

Newbie to Game Development

Hello everyone. I am a newbie to game design and I am wandering what language I should learn first. I perfer to play and make 2d games. I have been told VB6 is a good one but Microsoft doesn't support it anymore. They support VB .net so I figured I might do that but I thought it would be best to ask you all first. What programming language is best to learn first for a newbie to 2d game design? Thanks, -Mystixs

In an IDEAL world, you'd learn ASM first, then a higher level language (C/C++). Then you'd have really great programming principles. But, in reality, your best bet would probably be to start right into C then to C++ (Not that bad of an idea) or even start with Java. I don't know much about Java's game making abilities, but it's best to learn a language, without the game programming, before you jump into games. This will get you thinking like a programmer. Java is great, because it's object orientated (you'll understand once you start programming in it ;) ), but C++ is VERY powerful, flexible, efficient and just plain easier (in my mind at least).

It's up to you, but personally, if you're SERIOUS about making a career out of this, I'd start with C and C++. I started out learning Visual Basic, and frankly wish I hadn't, because I felt it was a waste of time at this point.

Those are my suggestions, choice is up to you.

Have fun! Feel free to PM me with questions about C++ (After you've read every book and article there is on the language, of course ;))

You really don't need to learn assembly.

Learning VB.NET is fine. You could also try some game-specific language like BlitzBASIC or Dark Basic PRO.

For me, the order was something like:
BASIC
Simple assembly (6502)
PASCAL
C
C++
Advanced assembly (PowerPC, x86)
Everything else (shell, LUA, Python, PHP, C#, it's all a blur :-)