Sign in to follow this  

Some basic C++ help

This topic is 4107 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I just started learning C++ and Visual C++. I'm trying to teach myself. This is probably an easy question for most of you programmers since you have been doing this for a long time, but for me I don't quite understand it. Here is the code for a program that outputs a 12x12 multiplication table. #include<iostream> #include<iomanip> using std::cout; using std::endl; using std::setw; int main() { const int size = 12; int i = 0, j = 0; cout << endl << size << " by " << size << " Multiplication Table" << endl << endl; cout << endl << " |"; for(i = 1; i <= size; i++) cout << setw(3) << i << " "; cout << endl; for(i = 0; i <= size; i++) cout << "_____"; for(i = 1; i <= size; i++) { cout << endl << setw(3) << i << " |"; for(j = 1; j <= size; j++) cout << setw(3) << j << " "; } cout << endl; return 0; } I'm a bit confused on how the output for the i*j works. If you remove the *j and just leave the i you will get output like this. 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 etc. If you take out the i and just leave the j you get 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 etc. I assume all output is from left to right in a console appliction. I'm curious why these two output differntly when I don't see any secial command or endl to cause this. It actually makes sense because it allows them to be multiplied if you have i*j to complete the table acurately, but why does it happen? Thanks