Sign in to follow this  

am i hopless in chasing my dream to be a game artist?

This topic is 4109 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

work sameple link : http://www.crosshatch.info i am confident that i am a good and competitve artist...and play, know a lot of different genre of games. i just graduated with an animation degree (2d), and have a good fine art background. I have been teaching myself Maya on and off for a while and i can model polygon models pretty good. but it seems no one would be interested to even interview me. i am talking about small developers. i am interested in concept art and character art

Looking pretty good to me, 100x better than I could ever do. Keep up the work and you can only get even better with practice.

See if you can find anyone on here looking for a modeler for their game, that might help you to push yourself to higher levels.

what is the biggest difference between a character artist and a modeler? it seems to me they are both required to model characters..or is it that modelers are required to model other things like porps and such?

also, which position am i more suitable out of concept art, character design, modeler etc?

The single biggest thing that sets artists apart is their texturing ability. The models and sketches look good but you need to paint some badass textures on them to really bring your stuff to a whole new level. Modelling is typically alot easier than texturing. If I were you I would paint some really nice textures for your 3d characters and show not only textured renders of them on the page, but also the actual texture so they can guage your UV layout skills as well. In my experience you will have a hard time if you can't texture well. If you can sketch and paintreally well you may be able to get into a concept artist position also.

DrEvil