## operator

Started by
13 comments, last by kloffy 17 years, 7 months ago
So, I was messing around with the ## operator a bit, (I'm pretty new to it), and was having some troubles. I was trying to use the ## operate to create a default object name. The macro I made is:

#define		CreateObjName(or,n,c)	{(or) = ((n)##(c)); ++(c);}

Now, when I try to call this later...

fGameObject::fGameObject() : m_id(id_count), m_type(OBJ_DEFAULT_OBJ)
{
	CreateObjName( m_name, default_name, obj_count );
	++id_count;
}

// m_name is a const char*
// default_name is a const char*
// obj_count is an unsigned int

I get the following error: error C2064: term does not evaluate to a function taking 1 arguments Anyone know why I would be receiving this? Thanks in advance!
Advertisement
Expand the macro. It becomes

fGameObject::fGameObject() : m_id(id_count), m_type(OBJ_DEFAULT_OBJ){        {(m_name) = ((default_name)(obj_count)); ++(obj_count);}	++id_count;}

The error is telling you that (default_name) does not evaluate to a function taking 1 argument. The argument being obj_count.
Ah, I see. So, since this is all done at compile time, it just takes the input and tries to concatenate those, rather than the values of the inputs.

I take it the ## operator is then the wrong thing to use in this situation?
Quote:Original post by ETFBlade
I take it the ## operator is then the wrong thing to use in this situation?
I gather from the syntax that this is C++, in which case you should really be using std::string. With a little help from Boost, your example becomes:
m_name = default_name + boost::lexical_cast<std::string>(obj_count++);
Even in C, it would probably be better to use a function instead of a macro, implemented using appropriate C library functions such as strcat().

But in C++, just use std::string.