Sign in to follow this  

Show me the way.

This topic is 4104 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am a 3rd year student in software engineering and I have a good background in art. All this is worthless because I do not know what languages, what programs do I need to create a video game. I have time, patients and a new pc on the way. I know it will be hard and almost impossible alone to learn. But what the hell ... I must try. What languages do I need ? What programs do I need to create the graphics ? What is OpenGl and for what do they use it ? What is Maya/3dmax and for what do they use it ? I thank you for your responses.

Quote:
Original post by Fares
I am a 3rd year student in software engineering and I have a good background in art.
All this is worthless because I do not know what languages, what programs do I need to create a video game. I have time, patients and a new pc on the way. I know it will be hard and almost impossible alone to learn. But what the hell ... I must try.

Nothing is impossible to learn, especially if you have time and patience. (I guess it was just a spelling mistake and you are not a therapist ;) ).
Quote:
What languages do I need ?

C++ would be a great foundation, it is the "most important" language in desktop games programming and will stay the major language for some time.
Quote:
What programs do I need to create the graphics ?

Photoshop is probably the most powerful tool to create and manipulate 2D graphics.
Most common 3D modelling tools are Maya, 3DMax, XSI, Milkshape... look in the Visual Arts forum for detailed information.
Quote:
What is OpenGl and for what do they use it ?

OpenGL is a graphics API, together with Direct3D it represents the industry standard.
Quote:
What is Maya/3dmax and for what do they use it ?