Simplest of games for beginners!

Started by
2 comments, last by Crazyfool 17 years, 7 months ago
Hi all, can you guys help for simple games in C++. Without graphics/sound please. Just simple implementation and making a decnt program[smile]. PS: also some games involving graphics/sound and knowledge for making them as well[wink]. I am planning to do a simple 2D game as my project and try to complete it till march next year
Advertisement
"Guess the number" would probably be the easiest to begin with if you're a complete newbie and need to get a grasp of the language.

A simple text rpg to learn about finite state machines probably wouldn't be too hard either. (hint on how to start, if you need it).

Having those basic skills, you probably can dive into graphics. (SDL is easy to work with) and get a feel for your first, turnbased, game loop (read input, update game, draw).

After that, you could go into realtime and write pong and/or tetris. Maybe extend those with sound.

Then writing a platformer would for example teach you basic AI and collision detection. Add the possibility of loading levels from file if you want to make it more advanced.

When you get to this point, you're probably capable of writing a top-down rpg with inventories, monsters, stats and whatnot.

After this, you maybe could begin dipping your feet in 3D if you'd want to...

Cheers, and good luck.
-LuctusIn the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move - Douglas Adams
Thnaks for reply. yes I am onw looking for simple games without graphics/sound atm. rpg game using different looping statements and conditions?

how will the game end and winner looser be decided, or like a puzzle game. I would like to know starting and ending of game. how should I make it?