• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
templewulf

Looking at Eyes with Irrlicht

This topic is 4353 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've been using Irrlicht in my project for a couple of months, but I'm still fairly new to 3d programming. I'm starting to script some scenes with Lua, and I need characters to look each other in the eyes for close-ups, but I'm not sure how to go about this. I'd like character A's head to orient toward a point between the eyes of character B. Is there an easy way to derive this point, keeping in mind my characters are of multiple sizes and may not be bipedal? How would you do this in Irrlicht? How would you do this with an API like OpenGL or DX? Thanks, Justin

Advertisement
No offence but your putting the horse WAYYYY before the cart on this one. You are going to need to make a great many decisions before the one you face. What kind of animation system you are going to choice, are you going to model pieces or as a single mesh, etc...

Once you get your animation system in place, etc... If you use a heirarchical system ( aka, head rooted to neck, neck rooted to shoulders etc. ) you best bet would be to have a dummy object representing where the character is looking. This object would control the rotation/animation of the eyes and head in general. Hell, with the right IK system, it could control most of the body. Just translate the dummy object to the location of the other persons head and your animation system should respond accordingly.

That said, you are a long ways from need to ask this question. You simple wont be able to get an answer to it on these forums either, unless someone is wanting to post 1000's of lines of code.