• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
TheUnbeliever

Problems with CreateWindowEx

This topic is 4442 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Actually the problem persists with CreateWindow, obviously. I'm just starting out, trying to get a hang of using the WINAPI. First simple thing I'm trying to do is simply display a window - I realise there are more complex things that you would normally need to do, register window class, etc. However, this should work according the the MSDN library which I checked at Using Windows and CreateWindow - at least, assuming I understood it correctly (but also the demo code is identical to mine, obviously, for such a simple task). My code is thus:
#include <windows.h>

int WINAPI WinMain(HINSTANCE hInstance, HINSTANCE hPrevInstance, LPSTR lpCmdLine, int nCmdShow)
{
	HINSTANCE hInstMainWindow;

HWND hMainWindow =
		CreateWindowEx(	0,
				"MainWindowClass",
				"My First WINAPI Window!",
				WS_OVERLAPPEDWINDOW,
				NULL,
				NULL,
				hInstMainWindow,
				NULL);

if(!hMainWindow)
		MessageBox(NULL, "Window creation failed", "Win32Learning", MB_ICONEXCLAMATION);

ShowWindow(hMainWindow, SW_SHOWDEFAULT);
	UpdateWindow(hMainWindow);
	return 0;
}

Using Visual C++ 2005 Express edition, having setup the Platform SDK alongside it correctly (I can display MessageBoxes, for example, without a problem simply to test). My problem is that I get the following runtime error when I run it in the debugger by hitting F5: "Run-Time Check Failure #3 - The variable 'hInstMainWindow' is being used without being defined.". The window creation obviously fails, throwing up my error messagebox. I reckoned that that made sense, and also tried
HINSTANCE *hInstMainWindow = new HINSTANCE