• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

I AM SO SICK OF FAILING!

This topic is 4172 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I guess...I'm just not cut out to be a programmer. This is my 5th failure at creating a game now. All of these times I've had to ask you guys to help with one thing or another, and the damn thing still wouldn't work. I can't even get a simple game of tic tac toe to work. And it's always something stupid like "you used = instead of ==" or "you set this up completely wrong." Why does nothing work for me?! I don't just quit when one thing goes wrong though, I'll spend like a month working a project that seems to take the rest of you about 2 days (and that's the complete beginners, I've taken programming classes and got As too). Is there some sort of magic trick that you're pulling here...or have I just completely lost it? Alright...I want to try again, honestly. This is what I want to do with my life. But why does it have to be so hard to do such simple things? Look at this code for my tic-tac-toe game, and some one tell me how you would approach debugging it..because I can't see anything. I've got it to draw what I want initially, the array gets set up, I can click, but it will only draw Xs when it feels like it. My take on this was either in my detection for clicking in the squares, or a syntax issue somewhere. Here is my code in it's glitchy, ugly completedness:
//////////////////////////////////////
#ifdef WIN32						// Only way this will compile for some reason
#pragma comment(lib, "SDL.lib")		//
#pragma comment(lib, "SDLmain.lib")	// Dunno what this does...
#endif								//
#include <SDL.h>
#include <iostream>

enum players {one = 1, two = 2} player;
int boardarray[3][3];
bool Won();
int GetCord(Uint16 x, Uint16 y);

int main(int argc, char * argv[])
{
	player = one;
	boardarray[3][3] = 0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0;