• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Allegro Cheating?

This topic is 4166 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

okay i've been programming for about six years now. made my games and all nothing momentous. as i do programmers art lol. and i came up on the idea that is using the Allegro Librarys a good form of professional coding? i want to be the best coder. i want to keep learning new techniques and i am going through college so i can start up my own game company (buissness and Computer science degrees) but i have been using Allegro to make my games... from that game programming all in one book from Jonathon harbour and noticed there being some nasty code in there way too many globals. but im just curious if my Allegro coding is a real game programmers way. if that makes sense. Help a poor coder out friends :) Thanks in advance!

Advertisement
Rather than looking for what is 'professional', look at what is practical. For that reason, I would definitely recommend looking beyond Allegro. Take a look at SDL, or if you want to fiddle with 3D stuff, OpenGL or DirectX, or any other library or API that sounds interesting. Besides broadening your insight, you may find something that better fits your needs than Allegro. Even if you don't, learning to be flexible is more important than being an expert in a single area.