• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
supervlad

OpenGL what's a projection

This topic is 4347 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi. Noob here. I'm having trouble understanding the proper use of projections. I'm trying to to do a couple of things: draw text, draw a couple of primitives and draw a set of spiraling points. A couple of tutorials that I've read change the viewing mode, usually in the callback function that changes the window size. I have *some* idea of what they are doing, but I'm still confused. One of Nehe's tutorials I read about text set projections like so: if (h==0) // Prevent A Divide By Zero By { h=1; // Making Height Equal One } glViewport(0,0,w,h); // Reset The Current Viewport glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION); // Select The Projection Matrix glLoadIdentity(); // Reset The Projection Matrix glOrtho(0.0f,640,480,0.0f,0.0f,1.0f); // Create Ortho 640x480 View (0,0 At Top Left) glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW); // Select The Modelview Matrix glLoadIdentity(); That works fine for text, but other primitives that were showing don't show anymore. I've read some definitions about orthographic and perspective views, in OpenGL bible, first edition. But the author didn't show some examples as he was explaining it, so I don't know how to manage them as the programs goes. What's the proper way of managing these things? I want to be able to draw things(geometry, text, etc) based on different modes of my choosing. For instance, some of them would be: 1) pixel coordinates (the width and height of the window, in pixels). This would be good for drawing text and images at very specific pixels on screen. 2) in logical coordinates that range from 0-100. This would be good for drawing text and images by specifying a range, from 0-100, of where to draw the item withing the screen. The screen would always be defined by that range, so no