• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
sofakng

Can anybody recommend a C++ book? (intermediate/advanced)

This topic is 4444 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm currently a Delphi developer (my day job) but at my company we only write custom web application/database stuff, so we never really get into anything advanced. However, I know enough about pointers, objects, etc, to consider myself an "intermediate" level programmer. Well, I'm looking to write a game involving physics and multiplayer capability, and that pretty much means I need C++ if I want to use any existing engines (eg. HGE, RakNet, ODE, etc). With that said, I know enough about C++ to write basic programs and I can even write simple objects but thats about it. When it comes to multiple inheritance, templates, advanced memory allocation, advanced pointers, and other advanced C++ stuff I'm pretty lost. So can anybody recommend me a C++ book? What concepts are important to learn for writing a multiplayer game in C++? Any suggestions available on Safari (www.safaribooksonline.com) is a bonus Smile Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

Advertisement
Well you already know a good deal about programming it seems so I would recommend Bjarne Stroustroup's book The C++ Programming Language. Bjarne is the creator of the language (along with some other guys at Bell Labs I believe) and this book is very well written. Generally it's not for the beginner programmer, but because you already have a decent grasp on some core concepts, I'd say it's just what the doctor ordered :)

As a side note, learning C++ isn't necessarily required to make networked games with physics. EVE Online is a space-based MMO that was written in stackless Python (with a bit of C backend if I remember correctly). But C++ is a great place to start!

Quote:
Original post by Morpheus011