• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
cutenoob

Hello,,I encounter a problem,,

This topic is 4436 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi,, It's my first time post here..well,my English is not very well,however, I'll try to explain it clear... The problem is the UI system..actually is the weapon/skill button,I must set a cooldown effect on which the button was pressed.(like WOW ) But I have no idea to do that,now I have to post this thread here , wish someone did it before and give me some suggestions... thanks...

Advertisement
The most accurate way to time things is using the high performance counter if your hardware has one. This is controlled and queried using QueryPerformanceFrequency() and QueryPerformanceCounter() which are part of <windows.h>. For example your code might look something like:

struct Button
{
long m_frequency;
long m_startCount;
bool m_locked;
float m_coolDown;

void Initialise();
bool Push();
void Update();
}

void Button::Initialise()
{
QueryPerformanceFrequency(&m_frequency);
m_locked = false;
m_coolDown = 1.0f; // 1 second count before re-activation allowed
}

bool Button::Push()
{
if(!m_locked)
{
QueryPerformanceCounter(&m_startCount);
m_locked = true;
return true;
}
return false;
}

void Button::Update()
{
if(m_locked)
{
long currentCount;
QueryPerformanceCounter(¤tCount);

float timeElapsed = (float)(currentCount - startCount)/(float)m_frequency;
if(timeElapsed >= m_coolDown)
{
m_locked = false;
}
}
}

Note that I just made that up to give you an idea, there's no error checking or anything like that so I wouldn't use it directly. Also not all hardware has a high performance counter. In this case QueryPerformanceFrequency() will give you a frequence of zero. If this happens you can always fall back on using timeGetTime() which returns the system time in milliseconds.