• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

How to understand the code which wrote by someone??

This topic is 4168 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am studying basic C/C++ almost all topics... and try to testing myself by picking up the source code from web to see the codes line by line for making understanding the code. But, I am got a problem. Many times I can not understanding or clear the code to see how the code working even I think I have enough basic to figure out the code. I am not sure that what is the real problem which occurred on me. So, do you have any suggestion for me. - When I pickup the source code which wrote by someone. What is the best thing to start consideration how the code work? I know that we should looking for main( ) and typing the code and run. How to convert the code lines to visual image? I have found this porblem especialy when I see very many lines of code.... Thanks in advance from any suggestion.

Advertisement
1. one possibility why you cannot understand someones code could be that this code is bad structured ^^

2. if there are classes look at the header files, the member functions and classes should have names from which you can easily figure out what they do.
Then you could go through every function/member-function and read the code (always having in mind what the function is for)

hth

more doesn't come into my mind at the moment

My idea is that you must first write your source code and understand it.
every body have spesial habits to write an source code.
Also you can give help from MSDN or something source like it.

thank you for everyone.