Strange Win32 problem

Started by
24 comments, last by mldaalder 17 years, 6 months ago
Hello, first of all thank you for reading this topic. I'm currently in the progress of writing a Win32 wrapper, named OOWin32. It's shaping up nicely, considering it's my first attempt to write a wrapper for Win32. Now, I'm having a strange problem, CreateWindowEx returns an invalid handle, but doesn't set LastError code. After some research, I've found out that it's the Window Proc that's at fault, so I thought: "Doh, forgot to turn any unhandled events to DefWindowProc" but when I checked, I noticed the window proc _was DefWindowProc. So that made no sense. I wrote a quick window proc that showed a message box (and returned the result of DefWindowProc), but it didn't even show the message box. And with that, I've just eleminated the only case I found on the internet that had my specific problems, CreateWindowEx not returning a valid handled and not setting the last error. This is my initialize function (it's virtual, and it get's called in my system).
	bool Window::initialize()
	{
		WNDCLASSA wc;

HINSTANCE hInstance = GetModuleHandle(NULL);

this->class_name = ("OOWin32Window@" + (boost::format("%#x")%this).str()).c_str();

wc.style         = CS_HREDRAW | CS_VREDRAW;
		wc.lpfnWndProc   = (WNDPROC)Util::WndProc;
		wc.cbClsExtra    = 0;
		wc.cbWndExtra    = 0;
		wc.hInstance     = hInstance;
		wc.hIcon         = LoadIcon(NULL, iIcon);
		wc.hCursor       = LoadCursor(NULL, IDC_ARROW);
		wc.hbrBackground = (HBRUSH)GetStockObject(COLOR_WINDOW);
		wc.lpszMenuName  = NULL;
		wc.lpszClassName = this->class_name.c_str();

// Register the application
		if(!RegisterClassA(&wc))
		{
			MessageBoxA(NULL, boost::lexical_cast<std::string>(GetLastError()).c_str(), "Error in RegisterClass", MB_OK);
			destroy();
			WindowManager::getInstance()->removeWindow(this);
			return false;
		}

RECT WindowRect;
		WindowRect.left= rect.x;
		WindowRect.top = rect.y;
		WindowRect.right=rect.w;