Sign in to follow this  

True Beginning

This topic is 4086 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi. As an aspiring game programmer I came here to learn more about developing my skills. I read a couple articles here about how to start small, which i'm fine with, but there seems to be a big jump between those articles and even this beginner forum. I've worked mainly in java and would really like to pick up C or C++ since this seems to be what everything is coded in. My java experience isnt too extensive, tho i feel i have the basics about object orientend programming. As a student i have access to many tools to program with. I want to focus on programming on a widows platform for windows platforms. Is the program Visual Studio Professional 2005 sufficient for this? Do i need anything other than this to write and compile C/C++ code? Also, the article i read around here said to start out with a game similar to tetris, then step up to breakout, then pac-man. This seems like a logical order to learn in. The problem is, when i came to the 'beginners' forum, i see rather advanced questions. I'd like some help finding a footing. to start making a game similar to tetris in C, are there any tutorials(including explanations) around for these type of small(learning) programs?

Hi, and welcome to the forums.
I would like to start out by saying that it might be a good idea for you to learn C++ before you start on C. This being that C++ is a much closer language to the one you already know (Java) and that I believe you will have a much harder time adjusting to the intracacies of the C/C++ languages if you immediately jump from a super-high-level language to a lower-level one. Also, yes, for your purposes in C/C++ programming, Visual Studio 2005 will be more than sufficient to aid you in programming.