• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
indigox3

OpenGL newbie question: drawing polys

This topic is 4281 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm just starting out with DirectX 9 programming, (comming from OpenGL) and I've been looking at the ID3DXMesh and the IDirect3DDevice9. It seems both assume that faces are always triangles. I'm probably missing something basic but, is there a way to draw general n-sided polygons in DX?

Advertisement
no. outside of shader programs (which i don't really know anything about), graphics cards can only draw triangles. any n-sided polygon can be decomposed into triangles. but, all modeling programs will make everything into triangles for you so generally there's no need to decompose n-polygons

-me

Ok, I remember in immediate mode in OGL, you could do something like

glBegin(GL_POLY);

// call gl vertex for each poly vertex
glVertex...

glEnd();

and have it do the triangulation for you. I guess there's no equivalent in DX?

As Palidine said, Direct3D solely relies on triangle primitives for drawing 3D shapes. I've dug up a little function I wrote for an ancient model format to triangulate an indexed polygon to a list of triangles. It's no rocket science, but it might be useful:

public static int[][] TriangulatePolygon( int[] polyIndices )
{
int triangleCount = polyIndices.Length - 2;
int[][] triangles = new int[triangleCount][];

for(int i = 0; i < triangleCount; i++)
{
triangles = new int[] { polyIndices[0], polyIndices[i + 1], polyIndices[i + 2] };
}

return triangles;
}