Sign in to follow this  
Deanie

openGL makefile on mac

Hi all, This is my first post so I'll introduce myself a little. My name's Dean and I'm a student studying games development. I'm from Manchester in the UK. I hope to spend some time in these forums and once I actually gain some usefull knowledge I'll try and help other users out :) I'm new to openGL programming and am currently being taught it at university. However the computers at uni are running Debian and I would like to be able to do some of my work on my iBook running OSX 10.4.7 The makefile given to us for the Linux machines address the libraries/headers of the following: INCDIRS = -I/usr/X11R6/include/ LIBDIRS = -L/usr/X11R6/lib -L/usr/local/lib -L/usr/lib I was wondering where (if at all) these libraries would be on my mac so that I may change it accordingly. Thanks, Dean p.s If this is a dumb question, please tell me why ;)

Welcome Dean to the GDnet.

Mac OS X does not install X11 at default, so it may happen that it isn't installed on your maschine yet. If so, then you have to insert the installer CDs and explicitely check installation of X11.

However, if it is installed, then AFAIK the pathes you have posted should work.

Thanks Haegarr,

I seem to remember installing X11 a while back when trying to get 'The GIMP' to run. I've looked arround and found X11.app in my Applications/Utilities/ folder. However I'm not entirely sure how X11 works, whether I'd need some kind of SDK installed before I can use the libraries in my own code or whether its all one and the same so long as it's installed in some form or other.

Perhaps if I post the error message I receive when trying to compile my 'firstprog.c' file using the command 'make firstprog' from the terminal window, it might give you fellows in the know a better idea of what I'm doing wrong:

===
gcc -I/usr/X11R6/include/ -g -c firstprog.c -o firstprog.o
firstprog.c:1:21: error: GL/glut.h: No such file or directory