Sign in to follow this  
GenuineXP

Using Memory Pools

Hello. I'm wondering about memory pools and how they're used. How does one use a memory pool in C++? What are the advantages? From what I've read so far (very, very little), memory pools can boost effeciency by setting aside "preallocated" memory for objects. Is this true? Is memory pooling worth the benifits only for large objects or large groups of small objects, or is it also useful for pretty much any object that's used frequently? How is it implemented? Any insight or articles would be great. I'm pretty new to this concept. :-) Thanks!

Guest Anonymous Poster
The benefit, from what I understand, is that you can control the fragmentation of memory so that when you are constantly allocating and deallocating objects during a program it doesn't eventually slow down as it looks for a hole big enough to fit objects into. I'm not a windows kernel expert, but I imagine windows has similar capabilities for defragmenting memory on the heap. Go to The Code Project and do a search. I remember some articles on it in there.

The benefit, from what I understand, is that you can control the fragmentation of memory so that when you are constantly allocating and deallocating objects during a program it doesn't eventually slow down as it looks for a hole big enough to fit objects into. I'm not a windows kernel expert, but I imagine windows has similar capabilities for defragmenting memory on the heap. Go to The Code Project and do a search. I remember some articles on it in there.