Sign in to follow this  
Moolkye

Need a little GameDev Help

I am currently in search of some developers that are willing to work on a 2 game ideas I have. Currently I have no funding. So should I look for investors first? Because that is turning into a nightmare. Seems like no one is willing to take a chance. But these 2 game ideas I have are gold. both are MMORPGs. And both will redefine the online gaming industry. These ideas are fresh and new and have the potential of making me and the developers that wish to be a part of it, very rich. I am not a programmer. More of an idea man. I do have extensive computer knowledge, as I have been in the field for 15 years. So where do I go from here? Thanks Dan

Seeing as you signed up to post this, you may not be aware of how such threads are usually treated.

The gist however is that if you want it done you are going to have to do it yourself. No one wants to make some one elses MMORPG, hell if I could make a MMORPG by myself I'd do just that - and have my own ideas in it and full profits. A company simply wont be interested unless you have some sort of track record showing that you can make good games.

Most of us here simply do not have the resources, time or patience [smile] to undertake such a huge task.

The things that make your ideas gold and that it will "redefine the online gaming industry" may turn out to be very hard to implement properly, possibly this is why they havent been used before.

I wish you the best of luck with your plans, but I doubt you will get much help here or elsewhere. Its the nature of the beast unfortunately.

Note: its not impossible. I know of at least 2 members of this community who have made functioning MMORPGs. Both had to work at it themselves though.

[edit: you might find this worth a read]

Let me guess : A MMO where you can build stuff and destroy stuff, capturing enemy's cities etc.!?

I'm a good programmer, but I'm not ready to make that jump into MMORPG.