• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
RobinOfSweden

Modding Games?

This topic is 4266 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi! I'm really new to game programming etc.? I am considering to start with modding games like Half Life 2, Dreamfall etc. But what do I need to know/learn in order to mod games like this, and what software etc. do I need? I really appreaciate any info I get. Thanks/ Robin

Advertisement
Honestly I would not suggest starting with HL2 for game programming. It's extremely complicated to work with, requires a good understanding of the language, a lot of time to explore the different components. The source has something like a thousand files, it's not something you want to dig into unless you're willing to kill a LOT of time on it.

A huge part of the SOURCE is uncommented and therefore you need to manually figure out what's going on, spend hours navigating through the dependencies to figure out what a function really does and how.

I've been devving a mod with my team for this game for the past 2 years, it's certainly been a bumpy ride, even for somebody with a degree in computer science...

since ur new to programin and want to mod u should start by modding doom 3 witch

has alot of video tutorials or text tuorials

-on how to make ur own charecters
-on how to make ur own particlas
-guis scripting
-level-scripting
-makeing nerw items
-on how to make ur own weapons
-all the basics

and alot mor stuff

it will be easier to mod doom 3 the hl2

usauly the game provbides the tools exept some

- a modeling program
- an ide (if ur gonna program hard core things or to the easiest thing)
-a level editor (usault provided by the game

if u want to learn to code get some books on coding
theres a good refrence of books here

Sign in to follow this  

• Advertisement

Important Information