• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Floats to LPCSTR

This topic is 4144 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi... I'm a newbie in C++ I have VC++ Express 2005. In my project I use MessageBox to send messages. For the text in the window of MessageBox i must pass an LPCSTR variable to the function. If I have an array of floats and i want to see them in the message how can i create an LPCSTR string from floats? Thanks!

Advertisement
Use boost::lexical_cast, or, if you don't have Boost (which you should), use std::stringstream and insert the float as a float, then extract it as a string:

float my_float = 32.0f;
std::string my_string;
std::stringstream ss;

ss << my_float;
ss >> my_string;

Modify as needed to handle a list of floats; use my_string.c_str() to get the LPCSTR you need to pass to MessageBox.

You can use a std::stringstream to send the floats (along with textual formatting in between them) to a stream, just like you would output stuff to std::cout. Then, you can use the .str() member function to get a std::string representing the contents of the std::stringstream, and use the .c_str() method on that to get the const char* that can be passed to MessageBox().

#include <sstream>

//...

float MyFloats[4] = { 0.0f, 1.0f, 2.0f, 3.0f };
std::stringstream ss;
ss << MyFloats[0] << ", " << MyFloats[1] << ", " << MyFloats[2] << ", " << MyFloats[3];

MessageBox(NULL, ss.str().c_str(), "Floats", MB_OK);

Additionally, you can #include <iomanip> and use functions like setw() and setprecision to format the floats more precisely.

1)LPCSTR is just a typedef for a char *, therefore you only need to convert from float to char *

2)However, you don't need to convert to char *, you can use std::string and the stringstream family(std::stringstream, std::ostringstream, etc) to convert between float and strings