• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
dacky

Opening a PPM Image File

This topic is 4320 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi I am new here and i am practically learning about game programming and i have started with image and graphics. I have basic knowledge in reading and loading a bitmap image since MFC supports it but how about if it is on another format like for example PPM? I hope anyone here who can help me with this one. Thank you to all

Advertisement
thanks kelly. can you give me an algorithm after parsing how can i display the image using the Device Context? thanks

If you are using MFC, you just decode the PPM into an area of memory, and use that info to create a CBitmap object, in particular see the CreateBitmap member of CBitmap.

hi, base on my knowledge i know how to open a bitmap and
place it on handle then attach the bitmap and select it on the device
context and view it using bitblt funtion. I need your expertice on this one. I have some questions.

how can i read a PPM file by using CFile?
- how can i access P6?
- how can i access the width and length?

how can i interpret the ppm data and convert into bitmap?
how can i covert color values and put them into pixels into a window
bitmap?