• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

Haskell

This topic is 4144 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Some time ago I started learning Haskell and I'm loving it. It took me a long time, on and off, to get into it, and a lot of mindbending to understand it enough to do anything useful, but once I got past the initial hump, I've had nothing but good experiences. I already wrote a mini-lisp interpreter and a web server and can't wait for more. The language is really really good. Emacs mode isn't bad (though could be much better). GHC is excellent. The excellent language compensates for the lack of some libraries. And with type inference and hs-plugins I get the best of static/dynamic worlds. So who else loves Haskell? What have you done with it? What are you doing and/or going to do next?

Advertisement
A fellow PhD student in my room is writing a number of static analysis tools (think SPARK++) in Haskell. I've heard nothing but good things about it as a language so far, and the turnaround from design to implementation on his work is incredible - I seriously wish I'd looked at prototype languages for my current work...

I learned the basics of Haskell over this past summer, and was extremely impressed by the language too. The type inference and pattern matching of Haskell make the C-based languages seem archaic.

The most advanced program I did with Haskell, however, was Hangman, because I got into a similar language, Ocaml, instead.