• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
BigFreak

Fundamental design problem

This topic is 4418 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Rightyoh, so I'm trying to design a simple chess simulation OO stylee and have a fundamental question. Ok, so the Pieces have a position. However this would mean that they knew, in some way, about the board they are on->bad design? So I figure it doesn't matter, their position directly correlates to their position in an array(/vector/container of some kind). Fine. But then doesn't this mean that all pieces have the same behaviour and that the game then ensures the Pieces move in the correct manner? This would render the whole inheritence that I'd planned useless and there'd be no need for any subclasses. Any ideas/thoughs welcome. Yeah.

Advertisement
well im still new to this myself but in my mind...

i think the board should have the pieces. a list of positions and what is at those positions

then the individual piece classes would have the moves that they could perform

the board would pass the position to the piece, and the piece would return where it could move from there

If you really are set to keep the position out of the Piece class, then you have to pass it as a parameter when needed. For instance, if you want a method that returns a list of the valid positions the Piece can move to, you can declare it like:

class Piece
{
virtual std::vector<Pos2D> ValidMove(current_pos:Pos2D)=0;
};

...and override it in any of the subclasses like KingPiece or QueenPiece. Although I really don't see what's so bad about the Piece having a position member. Of course every Piece can have a position like B2 and must know how to move, otherwise if it didn't it wouldn't be a chess piece but a piece of wood. The 'problem' would be if it had a member referencing the actual Board.