• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
ilflyer12

Remove a triangle from a mesh

This topic is 4318 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey everyone, I know how to render a mesh that was created from an X file but i need to be able to remove 1 triangle from the mesh depending on the where the user clicks on the object. Does anyone know how one would do this? I noticed you can make the mesh into triangle strips but wasnt sure if that would be helpful. Please let me know if you have any ideas since i am fairly new to direct x, esp. meshes. Thanks

Advertisement
i can start it off by letting u know u need to use ray picking to select the triangle, as far as removing it i cant think of an easy way to do that other than locking the index buffer and taking the triangle outta there, possibly rendering some sort of degenerate triangle if its a strip, if its tri list than just removing the 3 instance of the index out should work, im sure someones got an easier way =P

Quote:
u need to use ray picking to select the triangle
There is a sample in the SDK called "Pick" that does exactly this. I highly recommend you get familiar with the code.

In particular, part of the Pick sample will highlight just the triangle under the mouse - effectively the opposite of what you want to do. I don't know for sure, but I'd imagine you could easily tweak the code so that it does what you want instead.

Quote:
I noticed you can make the mesh into triangle strips but wasnt sure if that would be helpful
Unlikely - the default triangle list is very convenient to work with [smile]

If you want to DELETE the triangle then you'll need to lock the IB and/or VB in the way yoshscout suggests. You can use various D3DX functions to clean things up after you've gone in and messed it up.