• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Merlino

OpenGL Multitexturing, Environnements How To?

This topic is 4287 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I am quite new to OpenGL and I was trying to render some textures using multitexturing... So, I have 2 24-bit targa images loaded in 2 different texture objects.. The first image is a grayscale image and the second one a colored image. So lets say: image1 = grayscale -> objectname = Alpha image2 = colored -> objectname = RGB What I wanted to do was to create a texture using the Alpha object as a alpha value and the RGB object as a RGB value... So here's how I set up the textures:
Init()
{
glActiveTexture(GL_TEXTURE0);
glEnable(GL_TEXTURE_2D);
Alpha = genTexture("grayscaleImage", true);

glActiveTexture(GL_TEXTURE1);
glEnable(GL_TEXTURE_2D);
RGB = genTexture("coloredImage", true);
}

genTexture(char * filename, bool mipmaps)
{
   if (filename != NULL) this->Load(filename);

glGenTextures(1, &this->textureObject);
    glBindTexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D, this->textureObject);

glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MAG_FILTER, GL_LINEAR);
	glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MIN_FILTER, GL_LINEAR);

if (mipmaps == true) gluBuild2DMipmaps(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_RGB, this->GetWidth(), this->GetHeight(), GL_RGB, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, this->GetImage());
    else glTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, GL_RGB, this->GetWidth(), this->GetHeight(), 0, GL_RGB, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, this->GetImage());

return this->textureObject;
}

Next I tried to use the glTexEnvf() also with GL_COMBINE but with no result, as I didn't really undestand how the different function values work.. ^^ I'm sure I have to use this function in order to make the texturing work, but i don't know how to do it. Can anybody tell me? Thanks, Merlino. [Edited by - Merlino on October 21, 2006 12:31:41 PM]

Advertisement