Sign in to follow this  
xwskx

Any website like, screen-space error metric for dumbies?

xwskx    122
Hello i'm a noob, I've been trying to develope and LOD algorithm, and intially I have been determining level by taking the distance from the camera to the terrain subset. But as i began researching the topic. I realized that screen-space error metric, is more ideal for determing the LOD. But for some odd reason, the concept doesn't click. I think the concept is something like taking the distance between the reference height and the vertex height to find the significance of the vertex. If its within the threshold than add the vertex, if not remove. Is this correct? Does anyone know any sites i can visit to learn this in detail. I've been doing searches, but they end up being only a small part of the document and many of them assumes you already know it. Thanks for the help.

mrbastard    1577
I can't think of a site with a simple explanation, but I'll try and provide one.

Quote:
Original post by xwskx
taking the distance between the reference height and the vertex height to find the significance of the vertex. If its within the threshold than add the vertex, if not remove.

What you describe there is known as a geometric error metric - the distance is measured in 3d space.

A screen space error metric would project the two points (with the same matrix as the viewing transformation) onto the view plane and measure the distance in screen space. It's an oversimplification, but it can help to think of it as the difference in screen pixels - the number of pixels that will 'pop'.