Sign in to follow this  
Sylon

Unity 2d images given precise 3d behavior?

Okay I'm back and this time with a new question about what someone suggested for me. Summary: I want to make a 2d *isometric* RPG with SNES-style art, but with the sprites and objects able to have pixel-precise collisions in 3D (not tile-based). So they can jump and walk over rounded hills and stuff. And pixel-precise shadows that bend around objects just like in 3d. (I'm no programmer, which is why I'm asking if it is possible to code this kind of game). Here is the previous topic. I also want my game to be rotatable every 90 degrees (not 360 like real 3d games). But this means we can see all around the objects (of course I must design all 4 sides to every object). Here's an example pic of a shadow bending on a 2d object: Using the above image as well, an example of a 3d pixel-precise collision in 2d would mean that, say there was a 2x2x2 cubic object, and a 40x40x40 cubic object. The big object would not be able to crawl under the short stubby branch that protrudes from the trunk, but the little object will. And when it does, the shadow of that stubby branch will pass overhead! Someone told me a voxel engine would be too taxing on computers. Then a friend told me about height maps. He said I could make grayscale maps for every object/tile in my game that told the comp how high the object is. Since I want my game to be just like 3d (and we can rotate to see behind objects), I figured just height might not do it because a 2d image can only show the front of an object, not the back. So I'm thinking RGB values to signify to the computer x, y, and z, width, depth, and height values. Here is a pic of my idea: The blue values signify height (z), the red signifies x, and the green signifies y. I gave their values in increments of 15 (15,30--225). The first multi-colored diamond (upper left) is a tile of the flattest height (so blue value=15 for everything), and at the very left is red=15, green=22