Sign in to follow this  

connecting korg to laptop

This topic is 4049 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I have a korg x5 synthesiser and a toshiba satellite laptop. As I said in a previous post i have no experience of recording music via a computer so if you could keep things simple for me that would be much appreciated. All i want to know is how it is best for me to connect the laptop to the synthesiser. The connections at the back of my laptop are:- USB, 25 pin female, then three rows of 5 pins connection.(down know technical terms.) the synthesiser connections are no doubt standard:- 8 pin female connection that says to host on it. Midi (IN,OUT,THROUGH) (My terminology above may be a bit off but i hope you get the idea) What are my options for connection. Also in my previous post in this forum i enquired about what software to use for creating music. The packages all seemed a bit pricey at this stage as this may be a fad. Are there any good free applications. Thanks Mark S.

I forget if "Cakewalk" has a free version.

Another alternative is to find an older version of the non-free
ones on E-bay (which will probably be had for a fraction of the newer
versions.)

Does the Korg x5 have a keyboard?? A keyboard makes composing ,music alot better/easier than manual note writing in one of the editors.

What interface(s) on the synthesiser ??? Since it has to interface to the
laptop they must both have the same.

USB 1 is plenty fast to drive midi (if the synth has that).

The 3 rows of 5 is a video port.

If the synth only has a Midi port, then you will have to get an adapter (if it was a PC then you could have added a PC card).