Window Game Programming

Started by
3 comments, last by Kwizatz 17 years, 5 months ago
I have been programming for many years (that is scripting languages, php, js) and have recently decided to go up to more advanced languages (C, C++). I went through C and decided to go to C++ to do some windows programming. I got the console all down, so when I went into window programming it was like I got ran over by a bus. But Im taking it slowly and hopefully soon I'll get it. But my question is this: I want to make a unix simulator for windows. That is a mock unix enviroment that is completly fake. But instead of it being a simple console aplication, I want to make it for windows specifically. So A window would come up and you would have a command line ready for action. However all I read about game programming are in the graphical side of it. I don't want to draw shapes, but to mimic the unix commandline. How would I go about doing that? Or what books should I read to help me do that. ps: The windows book im reading out of is for windows 98. So... Im kinda outdated. Thank you.
Advertisement
A Unix emulator is quite different from a game.
"I thought what I'd do was, I'd pretend I was one of those deaf-mutes." - the Laughing Man
Why? [headshake]
I thought I would get replies like this. What im trying to say is that I want to mock the unix enviroment so that it could be used for in a game (think of BS hacker if you must). This is what I am striving for. I would just want to know if there is any information regarding programming that I can learn how to do this.
Quote:Original post by Idfy
I thought I would get replies like this. What im trying to say is that I want to mock the unix enviroment so that it could be used for in a game (think of BS hacker if you must). This is what I am striving for. I would just want to know if there is any information regarding programming that I can learn how to do this.