Sign in to follow this  
mako_5

Coder's Block

I've have a serious case of coder's block for the last 1-2 months. I just can't seem to get anything written (which is why I stopped trying for the last few weeks). Can anyone offer any suggestions? EDIT: I thought I might need to clarify my situation. I've coded almost non-stop for the last 2.5-3 years since I started learning how to program (for better or worse). Most of the time I would stumble a way around problems to finish a project (I abandoned my share of projects along the way too, but these were foolish ones, e.g. making a 3D RTS on my own with little knowledge of these techniques and settled for writing tetris and then asteroids instead). Now however, I dropped from doing OpenGL with Java to a text-only C++ (a new language for me) game I just can't seem to make headway on. I've gotten a command interpreter framework setup (with interfaces for generic Command and Interpreters for different situations, etc.), but can't seem to get items, player movement, and game rooms working (I'm trying to have it so rooms are loaded by mini-locations, so when you move to a new zone on the map, it'll save the last zone and load the new one). Is this a problem that anyone else has run into? [Edited by - mako_5 on November 9, 2006 8:49:00 PM]

a hello world application would probably be a good start. you can't just sit down and start producing full-fledged games. you have to start with the basics.

i'm assuming this is about your level since ayone with real experience would have had the sense to indicate their level of expertise.

good luck.

Yeah, realized kinda what you were saying about indicating experience when you posted. Here's some of the stuff I've finished.

• A chess game/GUI with AI.

• A simple neural network that you could teach colors from RGB values (it used a simple version of associative-like memory).

• Tic-tac-toe with Java3D (don't recommend this API, it's crazy)