new and in need of help

Started by
3 comments, last by Recluse 17 years, 5 months ago
I am new at programming, actually, I have never done it before. I have been wanting to make games for quite a while now and was wandering if anyone could tell me all the stuff I will need for making games, and a code I can learn without buying a book. Basicly, I am asking for some one, or people , to point me in the direction towards all the stuff I will need, and good tuts. or unless you would be willing to train me yourself.
Advertisement
Firstly if you want to see quick results and make games straight away try a program such as Game Maker. It has an in built scripting language which can help you learn the very basics about what you will be doing in programming.

If you want to learn proper code though there are plenty or articles and tutorials on the net that can help you out without having to buy a book.
Read about different programming languages and see which one sounds good to you.
Then try a few out see which ones you like better. I learn C++ which is capable of doing some pretty neat things when you know how. Also there are an abundant amount of free tutorials about it which is very handy.
I was thinking of learning C++ becouse I heard it is a great language and I was looking to make 3d games. I have tried the game maker, but wasnt to interestd in it. I hope that isnt realy asking much.

but if possible, do you know anything about 3d programming with C++ and all the stuff I will or may need.
People usually have a lot of misconceptions about what "game programming" really is... a "game maker" program is really a VERY toned down version of the kinds of things you would need to do, since half the work is already done for you.