• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
gentrinity

Complete noob needs guidance!!

This topic is 4415 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello everyone. First post but I hope that there will be more to come. I am interested in building two games. A basketball game and a Bushido Blade 2 fighting engine. So far I have no programming knowledge other than HTML and CSS, a little javascript, actionscript, and asp.net. Very little I know!!! I am willing to dedicate myself to the art of making games but I am the type of person that needs to set goals and timeframe for goals so that I can keep my focus and do things right. I give myself tight deadlines cause thats how I work best. So anyway, heres a few questions I would like to ask; I plan on doing the games suggested in the begginer's articles, Tetris, Mario, etc; cause I understand how thats going to help me in the future. How long is it going to take me to make all those games? A month or two? 6 months? A year? If I use some prebuilt engines like Endorphin for the physics, how much time would I be saving myself? Is it worth it to build my own physics engine or is that too advanced for a noob? Are those two specific engines that I mentioned simple, or are they tuff? How would you rate the game developing difficulty on them? Also, Im probably going to be using C#, but what do people here think about actionscripting? is it too weak a programming language to make the games I mentioned? I would prefer to stick to that language since it pertains to my current industry(web design). Thanks to everyone for any help!!! Take care!!

Advertisement
Quote:
Original post by gentrinity
So far I have no programming knowledge other than HTML and CSS, a little javascript, actionscript, and asp.net. Very little I know!!!