• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
SenorSnor

OpenGL glRotate doesn't work for me

This topic is 4324 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I'm new to OpenGL and have a problem with rotating, hope someone can help .. I want to draw four cylinders in a circle in a plane perpendicular to a fifth. Each of the four cylinders is under a 90 degree angle with its neighbours, and should be under a 45 degree angle with the floor. I can draw them in the circle, but two won't go in the 45 degree angle with the floor. It ends up like this: So the right and left cylinder should be under a 45 degree angle with the floor just like the front and the back cylinder. I have this code to draw the cylinder: void SceneDrawer::drawBranch(double startX, double startY, double startZ, double angleX, double angleY, double angleZ) { GLUquadricObj *branch; branch = gluNewQuadric(); gluQuadricDrawstyle(branch, GLU_FILL); glTranslatef(startX, startY, startZ); glRotatef(angleX, 1.0, 0.0, 0.0); glRotatef(angleY, 0.0, 1.0, 0.0); glRotatef(angleZ, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0); gluCylinder(branch, 0.6, 0.4, 3, 26, 14); glRotatef(-angleZ, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0); glRotatef(-angleY, 0.0, 1.0, 0.0); glRotatef(-angleX, 1.0, 0.0, 0.0); glTranslatef(-startX, -startY, -startZ); } that is called with this code: drawBranch(0.6, 5.0, 0.0, -45.0, 90.0, 0.0); // right cylinder drawBranch(0.0, 5.0, -0.6, 45.0, 180.0, 0.0); // back cylinder drawBranch(-0.6, 5.0, 0.0, 45.0, 270.0, 0.0); // left cylinder drawBranch(0.0, 5.0, 0.6, -45.0, 0.0, 0.0); // front cylinder Positive z-direction is facing you, positive x is to the right, and positive y is directed upwards. So the ones that are going wrong are the right and left cylinder. The way I see it, the cylinder gets turned 90 degrees around the y-axis; that happens. It also needs to rotate 45 degrees around the x-axis to get an angle with the groun