• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
ELFanatic

how do you pass a std::list object

This topic is 4329 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Just a quick question. How do you pass a std::list object to a function. I'm new to templates. What I did: I called it with the line foo(theList.begin()); to the function void foo(std::list<System::String> aString) { } It then says "error C2664: 'foo': cannot convert parameter 1 from 'std::list<_Ty>::iterator' to 'aString __gc *' with [ _Ty=System::String ] I'm obviously doing this wrong.

Advertisement
foo(theList)

std::list<T>::begin() returns an iterator of type std::list<T>::iterator

If you wished the function to process only a subset of the list you can pass two iterators to it:

typedef std::list<SomeType> TypeList;
typedef TypeList::iterator TypeIterator;
void bar( TypeIterator rangeStart, const TypeIterator &rangeEnd )
{
// process list
}

[edit: im not entirely sure what language you are using. What ive said is for c++, are you using some form of managed c++ or something?]

Most likely, you want to pass the list by reference (const or non-const)

if you are going to modify the list, or the objects inside the list, then you should pass it by non-const reference:

void foo (std::list< System::String > & strings)
{
// use it like this:
for (std::list< System::String >::iterator it = strings.begin();
it != strings.end(); ++it)
{
// do something with it
}
}
// ...
// and now the call:
std::list< System::String > myList;
//add stuff to myList
foo(myList);

if you are not going to modify the list or the objects inside it, then you pass it by const reference:

void foo (std::list< System::String > const & strings)
{
// use it like this:
for (std::list< System::String >::const_iterator it = strings.begin();
it != strings.end(); ++it)
{
// do something with it
}
}
// ...