Programming demos

Started by
1 comment, last by Zahlman 17 years, 4 months ago
Hello! I've been programming C and C++ for a while now and have recently got my eyes open for the demoscene (www.pouet.net). I'm completely in love with the idea to make demos! But I'm stuck, I don't really know where to start :( Do I have to learn som Assembly? Should I use OpenGL or DirectX or some other API? I'm a complete beginner to the world of graphics programming, but I'm a dedicated programmer, so I don't think I'd have a problem learning. Any links, tips or anything that might just help me out is welcome! Thanks in advance! // AppleBoy
Advertisement
While you could feasibly use any programming language you like, it's fashionable to make tiny exes in the demo-scene, so assembly is pretty much necessary. You could save yourself a lot of effort, at the cost of some credibility, using bare-bones C.
Assembly is an easy language to learn, if you're familiar with procedural programming. At first, you'll sorely miss the cosiness of strong typing and you'll likely get yourself into nasty pickles before long (it's difficult not to shoot yourself in the foot), but once you get the hang of it, the spartan nature becomes somewhat refreshing.

All the demos I've seen use OpenGL, and I suggest you do the same. While I prefer DirectX as an API, it is COM-based and thrives on object-orientation. Assembly language isn't OO, and dealing with COM in ASM is the sort of thing that gives me nightmares.
OpenGL, however, is very much functional, and is hence far better-suited to assembly coding.

Regards
Admiral
Ring3 Circus - Diary of a programmer, journal of a hacker.
The demo scene isn't about real development; it's about technical challenges.