Sign in to follow this  
frankoguy

Very Frustrating hardware Instancing problem

I've been programming an HLSL shader-driven game engine for the past two years. I've been working on this thing in total since 2002--mostly as a learning experience. But now, it's becoming much more than that. So basically, I have a lot of time and effort invested in the problem below: The problem I'm having has to do with a particle system I wrote. Unfortunately I cannot use the PointSprite rendering feature (where I can just render each vertex as a billboarded point-sprite) because of some customized vertex and pixel shader visual effects that need to be handled in the shaders: In other words, the effect is not generic enough to use with the generic pointsprite rendering features of Direct3D; billboarding is not the only effect I need to immitate, so pointsprites won't do. Basically, each one of these particles represents a missile fired from a space ship. The original particle system works great and does exactly what I want it to do under all circumstances: but the drawback is I'm executing a seperate DrawIndexedPrimitive(...) for each particle to be represented. Then I read about hardware instancing, and have since included some macros and preprocessor ifdefs to conditionally compile the code to take advantage of this feature, which will in turn allow me to use my original shader code and keep the original visual effects in place. Here are the important details of my hardware instancing technique: //different (important) class methods executed: //please try and excuse my class names: they are a part of my shader driven resource management system: //CDXHelper, CDXEffectInterface are my own class names and are not a part of the DirectX SDK. So the order in which arguments should be passed to my own version vs the order in which these arguments are actually passed to methods of ID3DXEffect and IDirect3DDevice9 methods are usually very different: just note what the arguments are: