Sign in to follow this  

the PATH of the young GAME DESIGNER. Start as a Level Designer?

This topic is 4020 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, first of all, let me introduce myself. I'm a graduated student of CS and Multimedia for Enginyeria La Salle, in Barcelona, Spain. My final thesis was about game design, including topics like behavioral psychology, game theory, narrative, gameplay balance, etc. Now, I'm interested in doing the "DESS en design de jeux" in Campus Ubisoft. Also, as second option, I'm interested too in "Conception et réalisation de niveaux de jeux vidéo" course. It's said that is nearly impossible to start working as a game designer straight the university. So, my question is: Is better to do a course about level design and then, once inside a company, try to reach the desired game designer position? Or is better to do a very focused degree in game design? Which jobs could I apply after the end of the degree? Tester, level designer as well (I already have knowledge of 3d modelling)? Which policy have companies like Ubisoft about this matter? Which is the most reliable path inside a company to get the game designer job? I really want to do this job. I read a lot, I've done a thesis about it, but I need to do the final step to get inside the industry. So any light and advice for this matter will be very welcomed. Thanks for your time!!

The point is, I face to two diferent ways:

1) Do a Level Designer programme (not my main interest) (http://campusubisoft.com/fr/conception.php)
2) Be hired as a Level Designer
3) Try to reach the Game Designer position from inside

or,

1) Do a Game Designer degree (my main interest) (http://campusubisoft.com/fr/DESS.php)
2) Be hired as QA or Level Designer (without the best preparation, as I wouldn't have done the Level Designer programme)