Sign in to follow this  
Jary

Problem recieving data from different sockets

Hello everyone, I have checked your articles, and you have really nice ones about socket. Well I'm still new with sockets. I'm currently making a different bots connecting on IRC on same server. I can make a connection (so a new port) by bot, using an array. I have problem to recieve data, as I use recv(). I only get messages from the last connected bot, and I would like to fix this. So far, my code looks like:
Quote:
unsigned numbot = 0; SOCKET sock[100]; // some stuff... ++numbot; //Assign a new socket number for a bot sock[numbot] = socket(AF_INET, SOCK_STREAM, 0); //Set socket for one bot // some stuff.. connect(sock[numbot], (SOCKADDR *)&sin, sizeof(sin)); //Connect to IRC
This sets a socket for each bot, and connects. This works fine. Now I try to recieve data, with a loop:
Quote:
while (1) { int pos = 0, buf_len; char c = '\0', * buf_str; buf_str = (char *)malloc(10 * sizeof(char)); buf_len = 10; while (c != '\n') { recv(sock[numbot], &c, sizeof(char), 0); buf_str[pos] = c; pos++; if(pos == buf_len) { buf_len += 10; buf_str = (char *)realloc(buf_str,buf_len * sizeof(char)); } } buf_str[pos] = '\0';
But there it only checks for
Quote:
recv(sock[numbot], &c, sizeof(char), 0);
; which is the last socket used. I tried making a while to check all socket, but it didn't work. I would like to please know if there is a function to get all of it, or how to read all the lines being send, and maybe if they could be a simpler code for what I'm doing. I tried to look how people gets more than one socket, but it was only server part, or joining a group (such as multicasting); not sure it fits with what I need. I thank you very much in advance. Thanks

If you have a program that connects to many other systems, the logic is very similar to the logic a server uses. The only difference is that you don't call listen or accept. All the questions about how to listen to multiple sockets apply.