Sign in to follow this  
Saimi

small texture on large torus

Saimi    122
hi all. i've a problem with mapping a small texture onto a rather large torus. i think my main problem is how i try to automatically assign texturecoords. i'm not very experienced with textures, and the result is a lot of extremely small textures on the torus, and for some reason it is coloured all red as well (the texture is some grey rock). after loading (using a TGAloader) and binding my texture i do this: glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_WRAP_S, GL_REPEAT); glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_WRAP_T, GL_REPEAT); glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MIN_FILTER, GL_LINEAR); glTexParameteri(GL_TEXTURE_2D, GL_TEXTURE_MAG_FILTER, GL_LINEAR); glTexGeni(GL_S, GL_TEXTURE_GEN_MODE, GL_OBJECT_LINEAR); glTexGeni(GL_T, GL_TEXTURE_GEN_MODE, GL_OBJECT_LINEAR); glEnable(GL_TEXTURE_GEN_S); glEnable(GL_TEXTURE_GEN_T); thank you in advance. /s a i m i (edit: spelling)

Kalidor    1087
To understand what's going on, you need to understand how OpenGL's automatic texture generation works. The object linear generation function is just the dot product of the vertex' position in object coordinates and the object plane vector p, which is specified with glTexGen*
g = p1xo + p2yo + p3zo + p4wo
where g is the generated texture coordinate. The default values for the object plane vectors are [1,0,0,0] and [0,1,0,0] for the s and t coordinates, respectively. Since you don't show any code specifying those values I'll assume they are the defaults in the following example.

Let's say your torus is lying flat on the x-y plane, has an outer diameter of 1000, and is centered at the origin in object coordinates. This means the x and y components of its vertices will be in the range [-500,500]. If we look at the s coordinate generation for the maximum x value we get
s = 1xo + 0yo + 0zo + 0wo = xo = 500